Department of Chemistry

Teaching Staff

Ms. Swapna Saha

M.Sc., M. Phil.

HOD & Assistant Professor,
Bijni College , Bijni
[View Profile]

Mr. Dipak Bhattacaryya

M.Sc., M. Phil.

Assistant Professor
Bijni College , Bijni
[View Profile]

Dr. Diparjun Das

M.Sc., Ph.D

Assistant Professor,
Bijni College , Bijni
[View Profile]

Courses and programmes offered : B.Sc. Honours & Regular

History of the department:

Date of Establishment1st June, 1994
Introduction of B.Sc. (General/Regular) course1994 – 1995
Introduction of B.Sc. (Major/Honours) course2015
Affiliation of B.Sc. (General/Regular) course by Gauhati University1997
Date of permission of B.Sc. (Major/Honours) course by
Gauhati University
First teacher to join the departmentMr. Ramkumar Saha

Name of the ex-faculty of the department:

Sl. No.Name of the Ex – Faculty
1Mr. Ramkumar Saha. (M. Sc)
2Mr. Prabhat Choudhury. (M. Sc)
3Ms. Monmi Saikia (M. Sc, PhD)


Name of the FacultyMs. Swapna Saha. (M.Sc., M. Phil.)
DesignationHOD & Assistant Professor
Areas of InterestOrganic Chemistry
Name of the FacultyMr. Dipak Bhattacaryya, (M.Sc., M. Phil.)
DesignationAssistant Professor
Areas of InterestPhysical Chemistry
Name of the FacultyDr. Diparjun Das, (M.Sc., Ph.D)
DesignationAssistant Professor
Areas of InterestInorganic Chemistry

Departmental Facilities and Activities:

  • The department has a well-equipped modern laboratory to carry out all the practical classes. It also facilitates smart class experience to its students.
  • The department regularly organizes students’ seminar as well publishes wall magazine and departmental magazine periodically. The name of the departmental magazine is Orbit.
  • The department took initiative in preparation of lab-made hand-sanitizer during COVID-19 lockdown period.

Publications:  Nil


  1. Seminar : (Excluding Students’ seminar)
  2. Workshop : Nil
  3. Webinar   :  Nil
  4. Misc.  :  Nil

Research Work         :           Nil

Share now

Similar Posts