Department of Political Science

Department of Political Science

History of the department:

Date of Establishment21st July, 1969
Introduction of BA. (General) course1969-1970
Introduction of BA (Major) course1979-1980
Affiliation of BA (General) course by Gauhati University121-03-1975
Date of permission of BA (Major) course by
Gauhati University
First teacher to join the departmentMrs. Bibha rani Sinha Baruah

Name of the ex-faculty of the department:

Sl. No.Name of the Ex – Faculty
1Mrs. Bibha Rani Sinha Baruah
2Mr. Jomio Kumar Basumatary
3Mr. Monoranjan Sarmah


Name of the FacultyProf. Kandarpa Pathak. M.A
DesignationAssociate Professor
Areas of InterestPolitical Theory and Political Economy
Name of the FacultyProf. Bibekananda Roy, M.A.
DesignationAssociate Professor
Areas of InterestIndian Government, Political Sociology & International Relations
Name of the FacultyProf. Babul Basumatary. MA.
DesignationAssistant Professor
Areas of InterestComperative Politics and Development studies

Departmental Facilities and Activities:

  • Departmental Library

Publications:  Individual Publications –

  1. Antarjatik Samparka aru Biswa Etihasar Drishwapat. By Prof. Bibekananda Roy.
  2. Bharatar Shashan Bebostha aru Rajniti. By Prof. Bibekananda Roy. (Co-writer).


  • Seminar                :          
    1. The Life and Works of Laxminath Bezboroah” on 26th and 27th June, 2015.
  • Workshop :           Nil      
  • Webinar               :          
    1. National Webinar on “COVID-19 – 19 & Indian Democracy” held on 28th & 29th August 2020.
  • Misc.                     :
    1. Departmental Quiz Competition, Organized by Political Science Deptt.in Association with IQAC & Political Science Forum on 13-02-2017.
    2. Group Discussion on “Cross border Terrorism and Indian Government” on 15-03-2017.
    3. Published “News Board” in the department of Political Science in the Name of “Media monitor” date – 18-03-2017.
    4. Departmental Wall Magazine “Memoire” published on 18-03-2017.

Research Work:       

  • Politics of Bodoland Movement: A study under Assam University, Diphu Campus by Babul Basumatary.

Prof. Kandarpa Pathak


Associate Professor

Prof. Bibekananda Roy


Associate Professor

Prof. Babul Basumatary


Assistant Professor

Last 2 years results


No of student appeared0
No of student passed0
No of first class0
Rank holder0

Similar Posts